Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Intel & AMD Compatibility)

Write a review for the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Intel & AMD Compatibility) here!

Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Intel & AMD Compatibility)
4.0 18
£16.99
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Intel & AMD Compatibility)
Great cooling, but a tad temperamental
Reviewed by . Review Posted 09/03/2012
4 5

First, installation: The fan was relatively easy to install, the only difficulty being that it's hard to get the screws to connect to the attaching point on the motherboard. The pre-applied thermal compound is perfectly good, and saves money and messing about.

Second, performance: The fan performs admirably at around 1500rpm, keeping my CPU at around 31C when browsing and listening to music, and the temp doesn't go above 39C when gaming. At this RPM, it's inaudible above my case fan.

Cons: The cons of this fan are that it does obstruct the first RAM slot on my motherboard, so I can't have a full complement of memory, but for the average user, 2 slots should be enough. Also, in an AMD system, the fan either blows up or down the case, which isn't great for cooling.
The main problem however, is that it sometimes causes a problem when booting up, and you need to press F1. This can be solved by disabling Qfan in the BIOS, but then the fan runs at a stead 2000 RPM, and can be heard a lot.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Good cooler but..
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 03/01/2012
4 5

Good cooler but too large for the Asus M5A99X EVO AM3+ fouls the first memory slot due to the heatsink orientation. For some reason its been designed to blow down the board instead of the usual across the board and out the rear vents...

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Great, but a little tricky to fit
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 03/09/2011
4 5

Bought Artic Cooling Freezer 7 as so many recommendations online. Overall I am very pleased to say that it lives up to all that I read. Phenom II 955CPU core temps idle around 26c and under load no higher than 39C, not overclocked. It is also very quiet.

However, this is the first time I have installed a CPU fan and it was a little tricky to fit. The fan unclips to make installing easier and all the parts were fine, but on my MSI 870A-G54 board it was almost too big to fit without touching the RAM, only a couple of mm clearance.

The metal clips that attach the cooler to an AMD CPU bracket work fine, but are not easy to get the screw to connect the two parts. Once that is done though it is very secure and works very well.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
If only
Reviewed by . Review Posted 30/12/2011
3 5

This fan/heatsink is fairly large. It effectively ruled out one dimm slot on my MoBo (ASUS M5A97 AMD) which I had kind of expected anyway.

Fan and motherboard didn't play well together, with the RPM of the fan being detected as 0 or 950,000 periodically. MoBo has checked out okay, so will be returning the fan. This caused stability issues, in Win XP. Didn't try in Win 7, but didn't fancy taking the risk.

A bit fiddly to fit (access to the 2 screws, and reattaching the fan), but well worth £15.

  • Overall 3*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Another ASUS problem...
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 05/01/2012
2 5

My motherboard (Asus P8Z68-V) will not power the fan on the heatsink. The mobo requires F1 to be pressed at each boot. I'm currently having to use it passively, which it actually does surprisingly well, whilst having CPU fan monitoring disabled.

  • Overall 2*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Good cooler, but gives false readings on CPU speed
Reviewed by . Review Posted 23/01/2013
1 5

Easy to fit and seems to do the job well keeping temperatures down with relatively low fan speeds. It has the usual issue of protruding into the area of the Motherboard where your memory slots are. It completely covers the fisrt slot on my Asus P8Z77-V.

The issue with the fan (also mentioned in other reviews) is that the signal to tell the Motherboard how fast the fan is spinning is very unreliable. This is especially the case at lower speeds where the signal will drop to zero. This will then spook your BIOS and/or any monitoring software you have and alarms will start to be triggered. You can usually turn these off, but to be honest you really shouldn't have to.

After research this seems to be a common problem. For £15 I'm not going to return it, but I am going to replace it with something else.

  • Overall 1*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Doesn't fit
Reviewed by . Review Posted 13/10/2012
1 5

Well after buying it reading it supports AM2 Sockets I bought it high hopes since my AMD fan sounds like a plane, I received it with the fitting too small for my CPU and the bearing not fitting my motherboard. The fan is more than likely extremely good but wrongly advertised. I'm now out of pocket with a fan I can't use.

  • Overall 1*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 2*
 
Fan your Troubles
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 26/08/2011
1 5

Be aware & check your motherboard will support the power this unit needs. We found on 2 ASUS motherboards this blew the first & the second new one makes the user press f1 after halting with a warning message. If you have a quirky fitting to power this from the PSU you will need a basic one connected to the CPU fan socket on the motherboard so that's a waste of money!!

  • Overall 1*
  • Ease of use 2*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Borderlands