Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the Edimax Wireless-N (802.11n) Range Extender

1 2 next Next

Write a review for the Edimax Wireless-N (802.11n) Range Extender here!

Edimax Wireless-N (802.11n) Range Extender
5.0 16
£29.00
Edimax Wireless-N (802.11n) Range Extender
Edimax Wireless-N (802.11n) Range Extender
Reviewed by . Review Posted 09/01/2013
5 5

I have been using one of these for over a year and decided to buy another one to connect my Sky box to my wireless network. The price is good for what it does and the old one has work very well so far. I order it from DABS and it turned up on time. The instructions said "connect it to your network and run the setup wizard". I don't use a standard domestic IP in my house and that means I usually have to change network settings any new things I connect to. However, the wizard saw both the old and the new extenders. I select the new one and it asked if I want to change its IP address(big tick in the box from me). It gave me three options for how I wanted to use it. I wanted number 2 (next big tick). It then showed me a list of wireless networks. I selected mine and put in the pass key. So, from out of the box to up and running took about 55 seconds - the longest bit was finding the passowrd in the manual. And it worked with Sky without any issues. I heartily recommend this product.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent Solution to Networking Problem
Reviewed by . Review Posted 19/05/2011
5 5

I've used 5 of these to network a 500 seat Victorian Theatre. We needed to network our rehearsal room, which is 3 floors down and complete opposite to the building from the office with the internet connection. The building is over 150 years old, and used to be an Iron Foundry, so there are very thick walls and plenty of iron in the building, however these did an excellent job. It took me about 2 hours to setup all of them, and we now have strong WiFi signal throughout the building (even though we didn't need this!)

The distance was just too far for cat5e cable, and with such thick stone and brick walls, even tacking cable down would have been a nightmare, let along running it through walls and public areas. These are an elegant solution, and with WiFi access on a commercial scale in this HUGE building at less than £250, we couldn't be more pleased.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Fantastic
Reviewed by . Review Posted 14/10/2010
5 5

Quick and easy to set up, had so many problems with loss of signal from my Bthomehub 2, this is perfect as a wireless extender .

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by . Review Posted 08/10/2010
5 5

Up and running in less than 5 mins. I am using it as a wireless extender and as such it is great.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Got there in the end
Reviewed by . Review Posted 17/02/2010
5 5

Bought as an extender. Tried following the full manual (Quick set up guide is poor). Had problems accessing to the system maintenance page for the new box.
An email to Edimax support got me pointed to instalation document on their uk website mentioned below. Followed that and, bar there being a slight error regarding the IP address to use, it was set up in a few minutes. (Find out what your routers address is before you start. It may not be as quoted in the instructions and you'll need to set the extender as a sub of that.)Signal boosted by about 50% in the farthest reaches of the house now. And it's tiny compared to some i looked at.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Seems like a great wee box...
Reviewed by . Review Posted 04/12/2009
5 5

Arrived this afternoon and took me about 45mins to set up and get working. Instructions are a wee bit difficult to understand sometimes (well, to a complete novice like me) which is why it took so long. Using it as a range extender for my BTHomeHub2 - working great so far. Definately recommend.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Does what it says on the tin
Reviewed by . Review Posted 09/11/2009
5 5

I was looking to extend the range of my wireless network to the garage. I read the reviews and took the plunge. Not being a network expert my first step was to download the full manual. Being a man I chose not to read it, so just got on with plugging it in. For the most part it was plain sailing. The one problem I had was wirelessly connecting to my existing, protected wireless network - not a great start to a network extension! Once I removed the network encryption from my existing router the extender worked fine. I'll go and read the manual before I put the wireless encryption back on.

Well worth the money.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Re-boot, maybe
Reviewed by . Review Posted 08/08/2009
5 5

Followed the instructions to the letter on using as an N extender (it can do more) and pinged as expected when connected by wire, got a network conflict when wireless, got late & went to bed, next day booted up & it worked beautifully. Now have 90% signal in living room instead of 15% from the Linksys router and am driving my Squeezebox wirelessly. I do heartily recommend this product. I also have an Edimax N pcmcia card I think it's all good stuff, & good value.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Superb
Reviewed by . Review Posted 24/04/2009
5 5

Couldn't agree more with the other reviews. Great little device, achieves all that it says and not many products give you that!

"Not only are they extenders, but access points, bridges and more."

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Low cost, easy to use, flexible and compact
Reviewed by . Review Posted 23/04/2009
5 5

As an IT professional managing large scale commercial wireless projects with the latest technology, I see my fair share of wireless LAN equipment. I bought these devices for use in my home as they appeared to be very flexible in terms on configuration and very low cost for a seemingly high specification. I was thankfully correct, they are superb little devices that are in fact multi-role. Not only are they extenders, but access points, bridges and more. Easy to set up,I had one as a main access point and another as an extender set up, fully secured within 15 minutes. Not only this but the footprint is literally half that of my existing Linksys WAP54G access points - Tiny...! Highly recommended.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Borderlands