Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch

1 2 next Next

Write a review for the NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch here!

NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
5.0 13
£30.27
NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
Still going strong
Reviewed by . Review Posted 11/10/2010
5 5

Mine's been running perfectly for 18 months, now. I plugged it in and it has done everything I've asked of it over that time without the slightest problem.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
And then we all fell down...
Reviewed by . Review Posted 24/07/2008
5 5

Dabs delivered as usual - however now my little GS108UK has taken to flashing every single port (both LEDs) if I have ANYTHING hooked in that it doesn't like or is set to auto-negotiate up to Gigabit. I fear it may be on it's last legs but I'm fortunate that I bought it over 2 years ago (or so it seems).

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Faultless for exactly 15 months, then died
Reviewed by . Review Posted 16/07/2008
5 5

Yes - mine died too - just engaging the support to see if I can get a replacement. Power supply seems to be overcooking it a bit (16v instead of 12v)

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 3*
 
Also faultless for about 15 months...
Reviewed by . Review Posted 10/06/2008
5 5

...and also died.

There seems to be a common problem with these, which manifests itself as the "little blinking lights of death".

But it's from the ProSafe range, and has a lifetime warranty. The returns procedure is a little bizare (you're emailed a phone number which you have to call, in order to be given another email address to get a returns number and another phone number to arrange collection from the courier!) but a replacement turned up within a week.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Oh well...
Reviewed by . Review Posted 15/05/2008
5 5

Faultless for 15 months then died.

The end.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Excellent Value For Money
Reviewed by . Review Posted 11/10/2007
5 5

This is a quality piece of kit, fast transfer rates, solidly built, Netgear reliability and build quality. I've just put this in a small office network with 4 Belkin gigabit PCI cards and all is working perfectly. Would recommend. The cheaper Netgear may be good enough for home use but for office buy this one, it's bomb proof!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Better than avarage
Reviewed by . Review Posted 08/11/2006
5 5

It may be a bit more expensive then the very cheap offerings, but you do get a much better switch for your money – after installing this switch between my servers there was a noticeable improvement over the cheaper belkin switch, this mostly was due to jumbo frame support and better 10/100/1000 switching. If you are a home user then the GS608UK will probably do just as well and costs less,

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Recommended: NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 06/06/2006
5 5

The GS108 is a very robust, reliable unit that is incredibly easy to setup and use. Compatibility with the whole range of speeds, 10/100/1000Mb/s has been no trouble whatsoever in my experience. I have been using my GS108 for nearly a year now, and it has been great- runs silent and cool. If you want an 8 port gigabit switch, you will not be disappointed with this choice.

My only criticism of the unit is the way the status LEDs operate. Activity is indicated by flashing status lights. These flash on and of regularly at approximately 0.5 second intervals when the port is active irrespective of the volume of traffic. So if you ping one device and transfer a large file from another device, the GS108 activity status LEDs flash indistinguishably for the two different functions. Trivial I know, but unfortunate nonetheless.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by . Review Posted 15/02/2006
5 5

This switch is very stable. Doesn't get very hot and I can tell its a durable piece of equipment.

I have mixed both CAT6, and CAT5 cables, connected my wireless router to it, and everything is running perfectly.

The switch automatically detects whether a connection is 100mb or 1000 mb. There is no fan, dead silent.

Data Transfer rates are fast, and I have had no problem what so ever. I recommend this to anyone who is serious about networking.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Great while they last
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 08/06/2008
4 5

Perfect, plug stuff in and it works as you'd expect. Sadly it seems they aren't designed to last (do a search) - Had mine 15 months and now it's only good as an Xmas decoration with flashing lights regardless of whats connected. Others report it's down to bad capacitors and if your good with an iron can repair it. I wouldn't recommend it unless you only want them just long enough for the warrently to expire :( Shame.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Borderlands