Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router

Write a review for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router here!

NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
5.0 43
£47.59
NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
Excellent
Reviewed by . Review Posted 14/04/2006
5 5

not being a coputer wizkid and needing a decent router for when my broadband is upgraded i read these reviews and decided to go for it.

installing and setting up this item was so fast and easy it was untrue. it found all my connections and set them up for me. Only thing i did wrong was when it asked for my login name i was ading the ADMIN/PASSWORD prompt it asks you to add at the begining of the setup. so a quick call to NETGEAR and within 2 mins they had me sorted. very helpful and friendly. First thing i then did was upgrade the firmware from the Netgear website which installed within 5 mins.

i have found this item so fast and stable to use compared to my previous USB Modem.

A quick security check has found the firewall to be working excellently.

would definitely recomed

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Awesome
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 16/02/2006
5 5

Just got this and all i can say is in the title: Awesome ..

So easy to setup and use.. deffinatly will reccomend this to everyone else :)

5/5

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
DG834 ADSL Router - Fantastic
Reviewed by . Review Posted 25/01/2006
5 5

Just purchased this ADSL modem from Dabs (ordered at weekend, arrived following Tuesday...excellent service as usual from Dabs). It must be as a result of the updated firmware the modem has, but it was an absolute doddle to set up, taking about 5 mins to have up and running perfectly.I put my computer together myself and this was by far the easiest bit of kit to get up and running. The DG834 is far superior in every respect to my previous old BT Voyager modem. My ping times to game servers are far less and more consistent; file download speeds are also increased and again more consistent. The firewall blocks everything that is thrown at it, including 100% from the full test at Gibson Research site. In summary this is excellent value for money, VERY easy to install and functions extremely well.....and yes, I am delighted with it.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
DG834UK
Reviewed by . Review Posted 25/10/2005
5 5

Having previously had dial up, broadband is something
new to me.
So many routers/modems to choose from makes
it a difficult decision.
Bought DG834UK after seeing it recommended
by my new broadband ISP 'Metronet'.
Plugged in the cables, loaded the cd and all was done
in under 30 minutes.
Brilliant piece of kit for someone like me with little technical knowledge of PC's.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent! Excellent! and Excellent!
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 22/07/2005
5 5

BT 2mb - Dell Laptop + Toshiba Laptop + HP printer + Hp Scanner + HP Ipaq.
1. Dabs service was first class: ordered @ 5pm - received Next day!
2. Couldn't get it to work at first - Spoke to Technical support - answered call immediately - no waiting - talked me thru - now working perfectly. Tech support were excellent and operate 24 hours.

Haven't tried it with Printer & scanner yet - but everything else is great.

*Must buy

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 5*
 
DG834 with AOL
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 15/04/2004
5 5

What is everyone on about FTP problems for? All you have to do is download and install the latest firmware 1.04.01 and set the correct MTU for your ISP. Which for AOL is 1400. You also need to set the MTU on all systems using the router with a program called DRTCP021. The fiewall gets full stealth on GRC shields up test - there are no ports unstealthed whatsoever. It is extremely simple to setup at the same time having a very sophisticated firewall.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Very good
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 28/01/2005
5 5

All working within 20 minutes - partly my fault as I forgot the full user name for my freeserve broadband connection. Second PC connected in one minute. Can't get much better than that! Yet to work out all firewall features...
Good product and I would recommend it.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Netgear DG834 (Wired)
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 06/08/2005
5 5

I was impressed by how easy the modem/router is to set up.
I plugged everything in, and the wizard set everything up very quickly. All I had to do was input my ISP logon and password and everything was done for me.
The only thing I had to set up manually was to change my e-mails from connect via dial-up, to connect via network.
It looks pretty good too, so it's unfortunate that mine needs to be positioned on the floor between a desk and the wall.
Only one Cat 5 LAN cable is supplied, and this is sufficient to connect the nearest computer, but it's no trouble to buy more of the correct lengths for your particular needs.
I have networked only 2 computers, leaving 2 more available LAN ports, so I may decide to network our photo-quality printer too by connecting it to the router by an available adaptor.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
DG834 FTP
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 15/04/2004
5 5

So impressed with the one I bought for home that I bought the same for work when we upgraded to ADSL. I've had no problems with FTP in either direction (I do use PASV mode as this seems a common problem with FTP servers).

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Martin
Reviewed by . Review Posted 23/01/2004
5 5

Just installed yesterday. Took 10 mins to install. Router auto connected to BT broadband with only the userid and password. PC's connected to internet with no problems. Very impressed. Ordered this on Tuesday arrived at my door the next day exellent service from DABS.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Borderlands