Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router

Write a review for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router here!

NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
5.0 43
£47.59
NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
Excellent
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 02/06/2005
5 5

Installed in a few minutes, detected settings and away. No need to use the CD. Clear quick start leaflet in good English was all I needed. Browser based interface is comprehensive and clear with, again, good English in the explanations and help.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Fine
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 10/06/2004
5 5

No problems connecting to BT Broadband, using XP computers. It has a setup wizard that figures out the line protocol so I didn't even have to specify that. The default parameters were fine. It really was a 10 minute task from unpacking to using

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Buy this for Messenger Webcam
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 08/03/2005
5 5

I purchased this after returning a faulty 3Com OC W/less 11g Office Connect. The 3com kit (in addition to wireless side being faulty) did not support my Cisco VPN and was dubious in supporting webcam via MSN Messenger. The Netgear 'just worked' in both cases. I bought an identical one for my mom! I expect the wireless version would have the same s/w support - but I decided to buy a 2nd of these in 3 days because I know it will work.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 24/07/2004
5 5

Very good product. Booted up with knoppix and had it all configured and working within 5 minutes. The web interface is very good, and comes with a default setup which works and doesn't leave big holes (remote admin is disabled by default). Also like it using Linux (you can get the source from the Netgear site). I'd use this over a USB modem any day.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
very good!!!
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 08/10/2004
5 5

spot on - out the box and up and running in 10mins - no problem with ftp, and tested with a security website - it had stealthed every port - would recomend!!!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by . Review Posted 03/09/2004
5 5

I have just ordered my third one of these routers: having installed two for two other people, broadband is finally in my area!!

These routers are first class, out-of-the-box and online within literally 5 minutes. Great to setup, and very easy to forget about.

I have noticed that occasionally these routers "lose" the connection, ie, you need to login and reboot the router every once in a while, but this may be more a phone-company issue than the router itself.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
No doubts
Reviewed by . Review Posted 18/09/2004
5 5

I read the reviews before I bought, and thought the balance of probability was that it was a good product. Installed easily. Worked first time. FTP works fine. Excellent product. I have no doubts I made the right choice.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent product
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 21/04/2005
5 5

The spec and reviews for this product suggested it was the right adsl modem/router/network switch for what I wanted to do (3pcs sharing internet and files, with one on XPpro, 2 on W2K pro). It arrived next day, was working straight out of box in 5 mins. Setup couldn't have been easier, detecting the ISP settings, giving me the LAN IP address to use in the PC firewalls. Rock steady since first switching on. FTP no problem (without any change to settings). Does exactly what it is supposed to do.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Great Router
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 15/03/2005
5 5

I bought one of these routers because it seemed to be good value for money and everything that I needed.
I have had it for a while now, because I wanted to put it through its paces before reviewing it.
It's great, works straight out the box, I had all my ISP's connection details in front of me when I installed it, ready to go through the motions of putting in all the connection details. Instead, the router detected all the relevant settings automatically and did it all for me. Great !
After ordering it, I went back to this web page and read the reviews, a new one had been posted saying that it didn't support Voice over IP, which was a pain as I do tend to use Messenger and Teamspeak for gaming.
I tried it anyway, and it works fine. This router DOES support VoIP and I didn't even have to upgrade the firmware.
All round this product has excelled. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend one to a friend.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Xbox Live NAT Status
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 13/07/2007
4 5

I bought this because I had terrible trouble with my previous router trying to get my NAT status from "strict" to "open" on xbox live. This router gave me an "open" status straight out of the box.
I was also impressed with how quick and easy I found it to set up.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
be the best in class, with out back to school deals