Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router

1 2 3 4 5 next Next

Write a review for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router here!

NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
5.0 43
£47.59
NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
Must Buy
Reviewed by . Review Posted 11/03/2009
5 5

Excellent item. Set up in no time, auto configured. Network seems really secure according to GRC.com. Great service from dabs, very good price and delivered in a couple of days.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
This router is more configurable than you think!
Reviewed by . Review Posted 08/03/2008
5 5

If you know a bit about linux this router can open up tons of routing/logging and filtering possibilities. By default the web interface only allows a port to be forwarded not redirected, but port redirection can be acheived by using iptables within the shell. The router can also be used to host a very small web site! Yea, it is lost when the router looses power but you can recreate it by pasting instructions into the shell. A brilliant router with tons of features even without shell access. The wireless is great also, however you can't separate the wlan from the lan and both networks share the same subnet and dhcp server.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Wish I had gotten one sooner
Reviewed by . Review Posted 31/01/2008
5 5

Title says it all really, easy to install and use. If you are still using an old speedtouch modem chuck it and get one of these, you'll be glad you did.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Buy this router!!
Reviewed by . Review Posted 20/12/2007
5 5

I bought this router/modem as my old one wouldn't work with Vista. This is as easy to install as loading the software from the CD, plugging everything in correctly and going through a quick setup process. I tested the firewall at GRC.com and it is as if my computer isn't connected. At this price you can't afford to miss out. Why go wireless if the phone socket is a few feet away?

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excelent bit of kit
Reviewed by . Review Posted 03/09/2007
5 5

i bought this because the WIFI adapter i had for sharing broadband with my PS3 was a bit unreliable and slow and also wanted to use internet without having to have my PC up and running. i replaced a USB modem with this and boy can you tell the difference its so much faster. easy to set up about 20 mins in total self configuring for your ISP's settings very very good highly recomended.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Great modem
Reviewed by . Review Posted 16/07/2007
5 5

This is a great modem/router/firewall that is easy to set up. The setup wizard detected my ISP's DSL connection information automatically and hey presto I was connected. It was a doddle to set up manually on my linux boxes too. However, I would like to pass on my experience with this modem. Initially, I could not get it to detect my BT DSL signal and I thought that the modem was defective. However, if you disconnect the ringer wire in your phone master socket (the wire that goes to connection 3) the modem works perfectly. Apparently, sometimes the ringer connection can interfere with the DSL signal. Don't worry about your phone not ringing because the asdl filter allows that to happen. This may not be a common problem, but the solution is easy enough. Again I would stress that the modem itself is a great buy and the fault was probably with my BT DSL signal.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Netgear Support
Reviewed by . Review Posted 04/05/2007
5 5

Brought this as I needed a modem and more ethernet ports for my LAN. Setup was easy except Broadband would not function (due to presence of another router). Netgear was brilliant, talked me through and resolved the problem. (Default gateway must be manually set to the router/modem IP address). Excellent equipment.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
31.01.31
Reviewed by . Review Posted 09/01/2007
5 5

If it's one thing this Router has got going for it, is a firewall, that so far as I can tell, is about the best I have ever seen. Simplistic this product may be, but in short, an absolutely stunning piece of hardware if you've always wanted to get rid of software firewalls that just - basically - slow the whole show down. Firmware 31.01.31 is out there if you can get it. I've been using it for a few weeks and the stability and performance is just stupidly impressive and never drops. The only thing that will fail is the BT phone line you're using. Period.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Worth getting?
Reviewed by . Review Posted 03/01/2007
5 5

For the price alone, this is worth buying. Connection is swift if you read the literature provided, pretty much fool-proof. Connected a Mac G5, a Windows based laptop, and a Xbox 360, all woking with no problems. Put my own personal web site online in minutes and my Broadband connection increased by over a meg since I installed, (had a Speedtouch usb modem beforehand, enough said!). Very discreet and so far, reliable. Thanks for the next day delivery service, Amtrak have been excellent on 3 different occasions.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
All-Round Modem/Router Goodness!
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 27/07/2006
5 5

It looks a bit like an expensive ladies purse, but if you can see past that (or like it) you will find a truly excellent marriage of first rate security technology with an ease of use that makes all that complex tech seem simple.

Took me next to no time to set-up and when I was done, I found that all my ports were "stealthed", making my PC appear not to exist on the internet, meaning that it would be virtually impossible for a hacker to compromise my network.

If you're in the market for a good quality ADSL/DSL modem router, the Netgear DG843 is the way-to-go for excellent tech, ease of use and excellent value.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
GTX 9 Series