Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the StarTech.com 4 Port PCI SATA Raid 0,1 Card

1 2 next Next

Write a review for the StarTech.com 4 Port PCI SATA Raid 0,1 Card here!

StarTech.com 4 Port PCI SATA Raid 0,1 Card
4.0 15
£29.18
StarTech.com 4 Port PCI SATA Raid 0,1 Card
It works
Reviewed by . Review Posted 15/03/2014
5 5

I brought and installed this card attached four hard drives too it, booted up my PC not expecting the hard drives to be found, but they was. Windows loaded I could see the drives and did not have to use the included CD to install anything else. So far so good, and I have eight hard drives in one machine.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
PCI SATA / RAID Controller Card
Reviewed by . Review Posted 01/01/2011
5 5

Nice and Easy to configure.I have four SATA-II drives connected to the device, running a dual RAID-I (mirror) setup on a Fedora 14 Linux Server. The device automatically detects the drives connected and prompts for the type of RAID to be employed. The card can also simply be used as a device to provide extra SATA connectivity (minus the RAID). When creating the RAID-I setup, the device allows you to use a drive that already has the O/S installed (irrespective of whether it's Windows / Linux / etc) and gives you the option to mirror the contents straight away onto the blank drive - basically this means that you don't have to start with 2 blank drives. As mentioned I am running a dual RAID-I setup, one set is a RAID-I containing the Fedora 14 Operating System (During the O/S installation, Fedora immediately detected the controller card, and RAID setup), the other RAID-I setup contained the mirror for the data storage.

For such a cheap product it performs perfectly. Great stuff!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Just works under Ubuntu Gutsy
Reviewed by . Review Posted 12/09/2008
5 5

Much easier than I was expecting. I'm running Ubuntu server 7.10 on an ancient 32 bit Athlon, Abit mobo with no SATA support - this card was detected by the kernel at first boot and presented my new drive on /dev/sda. Ten minute job, no pain whatsoever - penguin fans take note.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Revised review
Reviewed by . Review Posted 19/07/2008
5 5

I previously posted an incorrect review saying that the card did not work with Windows Server 2003. Well it does! (I think one of my PCI slots is broken). When working it is very simple to set up. A big bonus is that it does work with Windows Server 2003 as not many cheap four port cards say that they do.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Forget the GUI
Reviewed by . Review Posted 14/07/2008
5 5

With Windows XP first format the disks using Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Management/Storage. I then found it best to forget the GUI application that comes on the CD and just set up the RAID 1 array using the DOS application accessed by pressing F4 during start-up. So much easier and quicker. To check it has worked, create the array, write a file to the new the combined drive and then re-boot and delete the array. When you re-boot again both drives should be visible with the same file on them. Delete the files (to be on the safe side) and then create the array again as before.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Does what it says on the box, not the reviews
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 11/12/2007
5 5

Great little card, however contrary to some of the reviews, note that it doesn't support RAID 5. I have downloaded the relevant BIOS update and drivers from the Silicon Image website, however windows doesn't allow the install of the drivers (I choose to update the driver for the card, and the RAID5 driver doesn't even appear in the list of options), nor does it allow the update of the card's BIOS through the control panel or the device manager (as described in the SI manual). So while it is an SiI3114 according to device manager, don't buy this expecting to be able to upgrade it to support RAID 5 (at least in hardware). This appears to be different from the dabs value card, which people have said has been successfully updated to support RAID 5.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Perfect for Windows Home Servers
Reviewed by . Review Posted 05/09/2007
5 5

I installed 2 of these into one of my Windows Home Server machines, they are the perfect way to expand your system HDD capabilities.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Might Save Someone Time ...
Reviewed by . Review Posted 06/04/2007
5 5

Not explicitly stated in the DABS summary of this product, I had to go looking on the StarTech site - so just in case someone else passes this way looking for this info .... Yes! you can just run your 4 SATA drives in JBOD mode (i.e. each drive stays separate). With one of these, and four 750GB SATA drives (see such a drive at quick linx 42L2WS) you could build a i/o subsystem that would provide the better part of 3 Terabytes (3000 Gbytes) with very good performance, for around £700!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Troublesome at first but working fine now.
Reviewed by . Review Posted 12/07/2010
4 5

I initially had real problems with this card and two 750gb disks, the computer would freeze during or shortly after the bios screen when a disk was connected. This was caused by the card shipping with an ancient bios version which couldn't handle my new disks, and was solved by flashing the latest bios from Silicon Image's website (Startech themselves don't provide an updated bios so i had to get it directly from the chipset manufacturer's website). Working great now in Ubuntu 10.4 with a single raid-1 mirror.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Troublesome at first but working fine now.
Reviewed by . Review Posted 12/07/2010
4 5

I initially had real problems with this card and two 750gb disks, the computer would freeze during or shortly after the bios screen when a disk was connected. This was caused by the card shipping with an ancient bios version which couldn't handle my new disks, and was solved by flashing the latest bios from Silicon Image's website (Startech themselves don't provide an updated bios so i had to get it directly from the chipset manufacturer's website). Working great now in Ubuntu 10.4 with a single raid-1 mirror.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Challenge Us To Beat It