Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV

Write a review for the WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV here!

WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV
5.0 28
£69.99
WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV
Better than the rest.
Reviewed by . Review Posted 04/02/2012
5 5

Having had Sumvision and Xstreamer media players, the WD media player is a cut above those, it has a very fluid menu system, that does the job without complicating things. The picture quality is very good, i have only tried 1080p mkv and 720p mp4 and both played perfect and colours and contrast/brightness where spot on. Streaming is very impressive, no stuttering of L frame with MKV files, which is a major problem with the Xstreamer (best avoided). Sumvsion does not have many problems in playing files, but the actual hardware is very poor, i have had 2 players brick on me with no way of getting them back.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent value for money
Reviewed by . Review Posted 23/01/2012
5 5

We already have a full mediacentre PC hooked up to the TV downstairs, but wanted to be able to access all of its media from the TV in the bedroom without needing to have another full PC setup up there too. After reading a few reviews of this device and seeing the price, we figured what the heck, it's got to be worth trying out...

...and I'm so pleased we did. Sure it's got a few little niggles (e.g. a bit of fiddling required on the PC to let the TV Live see network shares that everything else could see already), but now it's up and running it's played back everything I've thrown at it just as well as the mediacentre PC (and has the advantage of not taking 5 minutes to restart every time there's a system update!). It's also way smaller and completely silent, which for use in the bedroom is quite an advantage.

If it weren't for the TV tuner and bluray drive on the mediacentre PC, that'd now be in danger of being replaced by one of these smart little boxes too... 80 quid, bargain!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
WD TV live streamer
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 21/01/2012
5 5

Excellent device - received mine within 2 days with no special delivery ordered - chuffed. As for the device - yes it comes with BBC iPlayer already functioning. Plugged in my external USB disk drive and this device shares it so now have a basic wireless NAS drive. And with WDTV app for Android can use my phone as a remote - who needs expensive Apple Airplay? Faults - if any - when streaming music from Windows 7, if you disconnect the W7 source, it keeps playing (must cache the files I guess). Can take some time to index large drives (ie. my 1Tb external drive) but fetches all of the metadata, image thumbnails etc. Looks very professional on screen and makes you wonder why we need discs - how old fashioned! Slight niggle - hardly worth mentioning but when I resize my JPG's to 1080px it makes little difference as the device automatically seems to resize them for the screen. Quality is truly out of this world for pictures and videos.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by . Review Posted 01/01/2012
5 5

This does what my PS3 does as media player and streaming device, only it can read far more file types and isn't anywhere as electricity consuming as the PS3. You need to find the sweet spot to pick your network signal, finish the setup first and then upgrade the firmware before anything else. I tried to upgrade via USB, but didn't work. The version I downloaded was 2 versions ahead. The player checked online and came with the middle version, downloaded and installed that and then came with the newest version and installed it. It's extremely attractive little thing with great port versatility. It plays simultaneously the sound on TV via HDMI (cable not supplied) and the stereo via the supplied composite cable. Haven't tried the optical output yet. The picture is great on 1080P screen. I've held back from buying media streamer as they lacked one thing or other, but this one ticks almost all the boxes with a reasonable price. Dabs despatch and Yodel delivery were very good.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Excellent little device
Reviewed by . Review Posted 05/12/2013
4 5

I bought this because the old laptop i have had parked under the TV for ever was struggling to render some of the larger file/higher bit rate .mkv files i have been throwing at it over the network.

Plugged this puppy in and spent 5 minutes configuring it to talk to the relevant network shares and its was away and running.

Great quality playback, very easy to use (my wife could never use the laptop and she can use this no problem at all) and does everything i could ask of it so far.

I use it wired so don't have anything to say about the built in wifi, BBC iPlayer works great. I also don't use the games etc. so wont review those.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants an unobtrusive, easy to use but reliable media steaming device for under the telly.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
great little box
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 24/05/2013
4 5

really good i have two of these and they play most video formats i would recommend to anyone

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Very good, but...
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 15/02/2013
4 5

This media streamer is excellent value. It streams music, photos and videos (inc HD) brilliantly and was easy to set up. However, the interface is a bit cumbersome and entering logins and passwords using the remote's left and right to enter letters individually is a pain. The app to turn my android phone into a remote worked much better, but suddenly stopped working and I just can't get it to work again. Also, I wanted to use Spotify but discovered that you need to have a premium account. Finally, I don't find the Spotify and Facebook interfaces very user friendly. Having said that, it is an amazing bit of kit.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Could be amazing
Reviewed by . Review Posted 29/12/2012
4 5

First, the good: Video playback is amazing. Absolutely ZERO stutter/buffering even with 1080p. Neat extras like youtube app syncing with other devices, so able to play youtube vids from my galaxy s3 on tv screen.
the bad: Often has te re-sync with network shares, which takes a long time if you have lots of video files. Interface easy enough but sometimes lags a lot/freezes up.

All in all though, good value for money as it plays EVERYTHING and has some nice features. Hoping future firmware updates can sort the little niggly issues.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 3*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Good in parts
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 07/12/2012
4 5

What none of the details explain is that this device does not power off the USB ports when put to standby. You have to press and hold the power button on the remote for about 5 seconds to turn it off completely. If, as I do, you have a USB hard drive attached, it is essential to make sure that the power is off.
This is a problem if, like me you use a universal remote which does not understand long button presses.
Another negative is that it seems very slow to respond to anything, powering up takes nearly a minute before you are able to do anything with it - which can be frustrating!
On the plus side, setting up was easy and it has played everything I have thrown at it so far, whatever the format.
All in all I am pleased with it. It does what I wanted it for although there are those niggles.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Great little player
Reviewed by . Review Posted 30/11/2012
4 5

Had this player for 6 months now it plays everything I have thrown at it so far, the only downside is when the player is turned off the USB drive still stays on which means I have to keep un-plugging the USB drive which is a little annoying the WDTV live also runs quite hot.
Otherwise its easy to use and was a great replacement for my PS3 which didn't play enough media file types.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
GTX 9 Series