Sign in to your account
  • Your basket is empty

Customer reviews for the WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV

1 2 3 next Next

Write a review for the WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV here!

WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV
5.0 28
£69.99
WD TV Live Media Player - Play All Your Media Files On Your TV
It just works
Reviewed by . Review Posted 23/07/2013
5 5

Absolutely brilliant piece of kit, worked straight of the the box - connected wirelessly to my router and within 5 minutes I was watching you tube on my TV.
It also streams seamlessly from my Zyxel NSA320 (see seperate review)

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Update to my first review
Reviewed by . Review Posted 19/07/2013
5 5

Since owning this unit for a few months now, I have some more to say. My overall rating is still the same. * It can't display subtitles from Humax recordings as stated in my original review - I don't know how I made that mistake. * HD recordings from the Humax PVR with surround sound nearly always have AAC soundtracks. As my receiver can't decode AAC the WD box downmixes to stereo. Supported formats are passed through ok. Pity the box can't re-encode AAC to AC-3. * Even with all library scanning options off, the box is still very active on the network when in standby. As the unit is atanding on a shelf in our bedroom, we have a permanent flashing light display on the wall from the network indicators on the back. The box also stays quite warm even when in standby. I can't see why they don't have a proper standby option if you don't want it to scan the network for media. * I have experienced the audio sync. problems that others have had with some mkv. Fixed by re-muxing file to .ts

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Just what I hoped for.
Reviewed by . Review Posted 28/03/2013
5 5

I was getting fed up with connecting my laptop to the TV and surround sound whenever I wanted to play a video file, so decided to ask for this for my birthday. So far it has played every video format we have, HD and SD .ts files from the Humax PVR, mkv video files, avi, VIDEO_TS folders from ripped DVDs etc. It is able to display subtitles from Humax recordings, which I couldn't do with the laptop (using VLC or MPC). Only format issue has been with flv which took an age to start playing, but seems like that may be a recent bug. One other issue is it stops any Windows PC on the network from creating a network map, even if it is in standby. So far this has been a first class performer.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Great little box
Reviewed by . Review Posted 04/02/2013
5 5

This is a great little box for watching all your videos, listening to your music or browsing your photos on your TV. It seams to play everything you throw at it, the interface is good, and it's easy to find your media on your storage device. Into the bargain it has WiFi built in so it can stream media from your internal network without using an Ethernet cable.You can also get your photos from Flicker, watch YouTube videos and connect up to Netflix. It doesn't come with an HDMI cable in the box, so this has to be purchased separately. obviously you need to supply your own storage mediums also, I own three external portable hard drives full of media, no need to boot up the computer to watch my media now.
Overall this is the best media product I own and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to watch their media on a TV. Oh, and there's an app for your smartphone which is great too.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent for streaming video
Reviewed by . Review Posted 05/09/2012
5 5

Bought and set up on Sat 01/09/12 mainly for streaming video from from WD MyWorldBook NAS over wifi.
Easy to set up from out of the box, downloaded an Firmware Update, found my NAS drive and began streaming video within half an hour.
Does what it says on the tin at a reasonable price.
My router is giving it low wifi signal strength yet it still manages to deliver!
Great product all round!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent media player
Reviewed by . Review Posted 09/03/2012
5 5

Had installed for a day now. Easy to set up. Picture quality fantastic. Been through my NAS and it's played every type of file I have on it with no issues whatsoever. Netflix works fine. My wife, who's not amazing with tech, managed to work it fine this morning and pull files to watch off the network so it must be easy to use. Overall very happy with purchase and next day deliv from dabs was spot on.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Everything I hoped it would be
Reviewed by . Review Posted 17/02/2012
5 5

The media streamer is a lot smaller than I expected, it's hard to believe such a small silent box can do such amazing things!

Out of the box I plugged the HDMI into the TV, the AV cable into my speakers and turned the box on. It worked.

Found my TP-Link TD-W8960N router instantly and I simply typed in my WEP key and hey presto I'm connected.

It then prompted to update firmware and after the update it found all of my shared network drives and started streaming my movies flawlessly. Love it!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Every house needs one of these!
Reviewed by . Review Posted 13/02/2012
5 5

First off download the lastest firmware. (current 1.0.6) Cannot recommend enough. And will not be disappointed. Yes it is more expensive that some budget media players, but you dont get the quality of use with this product. It will play virtually all formats you throw at it, more than any other media player in this price bracket. This product is 3rd generation of the WD TV Live. Can retrieve metadata for your media content from internet. Can connect to any type of network share, media server, and stream content. Can put the remote down and even control this via (FREE) app on iOS or Android devices. Heck of a lot this can do. Worth every penny. And does exactly everything I wanted and more. Has BBC iPlayer. Netflix. Accuweather. Can install custom themes. Display/Read RSS feeds. You dont even need a HD TV. Can use the supplied component cable. I played through my 13 yr old Sony tube TV. Excellent product.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Western Digital TV Live Streaming Media Player
Reviewed by . Review Posted 05/02/2012
5 5

Received my WD Live SMP yesterday. Very pleased with it and the service from Dabs.com, Netflix & IPlayer stream well in high quality. Plays/shows all my music and photos. Facebook is a little cumbersome but okay. The onscreen text input system is awful. I have bought a mini usb wireless keyboard, this works brilliantly with the WD Live. Very easy to input email addresses and passwords accurately and quickly. Overall a good buy.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Can't praise this enough
Reviewed by . Review Posted 05/02/2012
5 5

Bought this just after Xmas so have been using it continuously for a few weeks now.

Easy to set up, does it all with just a few clicks. Automatically picked up my wireless signal. Plays all formats stated even mkv perfectly.

Even the remote control handset is moulded at the back for comfort!

Updated the firmware and BBC iPlayer appeared, I don't have a TV licence or an ariel just used the TV screen for DVDs etc so this is a great addition.

I have an external drive attached to this now so all of my downloaded movies and TV series are available with one click, crystal clear picture and sound, absolutely perfect.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
the dabs.com easter egg hunt